For Providers

Resources for Providers

Published On 06/25/2012


Heart Institute welcomes three new cardiologists

Hitesh Agrawal, MD, Gary Beasley, MD, and Kaitlin Balduf Ryan, MD, recently joined Le Bonheur's Cardiology department.

Agrawal received his medical degree from B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences in Nepal and completed his pediatrics residency at John H Stroger Hospital of Cook County in Chicago. He completed a pediatric cardiology fellowship and a pediatric interventional cardiology fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine.

Beasley comes to Le Bonheur from the Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago where he completed a fellowship in the Division of Pediatric Cardiology and Heart Failure and Transplant. He received his medical degree from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine and completed his pediatric residency at the Children's Hospital of Richmond.

Ryan received her medical degree from Temple University School of Medicine. She completed her pediatric residency at Georgetown University Hospital and pediatric cardiology fellowship at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center/Le Bonheur Children's Hospital. 

Bergeron named Young Pediatrician of the Year

Pediatric Consultants Pediatrician Blake Bergeron, MD, FAAP, has been named Early Career Physician of the Year by the Tennessee Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The annual TNAAP Excellence in Pediatrics Awards chooses honorees each year to recognize those who have made exceptional contributions to children's health advocacy in Tennessee.

Ward and Boop named Health Care Heroes by Memphis Business Journal

Jewell Ward, MD, PhD, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Memphis Business Journal's Health Care Heroes awards. Ward is a clinical geneticist with Le Bonheur and the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. She is director of Inborn Errors of Metabolism Clinical Laboratory at Le Bonheur and UTHSC, which she established in 1979.

Frederick Boop, MD was the winner of the Health Care Provider - Physician Health Care Heroes award. Boop is the co-director of the Neuroscience Institute and medical director of the Neurosurgical ICU at Le Bonheur. He also serves as chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at UTHSC.

Save the Date: Physician Town Hall

Listen to a hospital update from Le Bonheur CEO Meri Armour on Wednesday, Sept. 26 at 6 p.m. in the Le Bonheur Auditorium. A preceding cocktail reception will begin at 5 p.m. Learn about our new strategic plan and our vision for what's next for Le Bonheur.